Dalswinton Walk on Saturday 2nd May at 2pm
The next Discover Kirkmahoe leaflet will detail a very pretty walk around Dalswinton. Leaflets will be distributed to each household in the parish next week, along with an invitation to the inaugural walk on Saturday 2nd May.
The Barony of Dalswinton has remained unaltered since mediaeval times, and the Cumins of Badenoch, rivals of the Bruce family for the Scottish crown held the estate in the 13th century. It was from Dalswinton Castle that the Red Comyn travelled to his death in Greyfriars church in 1306 at the hands of Robert the Bruce.
No such treachery or brutality expected on 2nd May, and hopefully you’ll be able to enjoy an hour or two walking in some very pretty surroundings.
The walk starts at the double lodges, with plenty of parking available at the wind farm entrance. Tea, coffee, sandwiches and cake will be available after the walk in Dalswinton village hall.
Please join us and bring family, friends and well-behaved dogs!